Planning Commission


The Planning Commission is responsible for creating a master plan for the physical development of the city. They review comprehensive programs for capital improvements, rezoning requests, site plans, subdivisions, special use permits and other land use applications. They also review the widening and extension of streets, the development of parks and other public improvements. 

The Planning Commission develops new zoning standards and ensures that the standards of appropriate environmental protection legislation are applied. The Commission consists of nine members who serve three-year terms.

The Commission meets the third Monday of each month (please see calendar for exceptions) at 6:30 PM at Vassar City Hall. City Hall is located at 287 E. Huron Avenue, Vassar.

Commission Members

Name Appointed Term Expires
Michael Damm Council Liaison Tenure
Gary Kasper 7/2007 6/30/2024
Buryl Binder 8/2013 6/30/2024
Ian Rudnik 3/2014 6/30/2023
Jennifer Miller 2014 6/30/2023
Benjamin Kaiser 2/2020 6/30/2023
Ian Palmer 3/2023 6/30/2026

Contact Us

Andrew Niedzinski

City Manager
Ph: 989-823-8517

287 E. Huron Avenue
Vassar, MI  48768


8:00 am-4:30 pm
Excluding Holidays